The maiden edition of the Engineer Toke Aka Jubilee National Scrabble Championship will be held at the Hotel de Bentley in Utako-district, Abuja on the 17th of June. Interested players can click here to register and make payment online immediately or offline

The Jubilee National Championship as well as a Scrabble Retreat is to celebrate the 60th anniversary of the Managing Director of Kadegg Ltd who is also the President of Nigeria Scrabble Federation (NSF) Chief Engineer Toke Aka.


Wellington 2019 National Scrabble Champion.
Wellington National Champion 2019

The 29th edition of the Asaph Zadok National Scrabble Championship begins today at the National Stadium Abuja as part of the Festival of Scrabble this week from the 2oth to the 26th of March 2023.  Fifty-eight (58) players will be competing for the Green Jacket - the ultimate symbol of Scrabble Mastery in Nigeria. The players were drawn from eleven states and will be joined by 4 (four) NSF wildcard players and players from the Nigerian Navy.  2019 winner and defending champion Wellington Jighere is among the top Scrabble players who shall compete for honors.  Other top players like Eta Karo (2005 champion), Dipo Akanbi (2017 champion), Dennis Ikekeregor, Emmanuel Umujose, and Olatunde Oduwole (winner, 2016) are also among the top contenders for the prize. (more…)

The 2023 NSF Inter-Club Challenge Grand Finale will hold in Abuja as part of activities of the week-long 1st NSF Scrabble Festival Abuja from Friday 24th to Sunday 26th of March 2023. (more…)

The Nigeria Scrabble Federation (FCT Zone) invites you to the 2022 Abuja National Scrabble Open Tournament which will be held from Saturday the 1st to Sunday the 2nd of October 2022 at the Media Center Package A, National Stadium Abuja. Games start at 8.30 am on Saturday, the 1st of October. (more…)

Jighere Wellington outscored 43 other players representing all the states of the Federation to become the Asaph Zadok National Scrabble Champion held from Friday 23rd to Sunday 25th August 2019. The annual event named in honour of the former Grand Patron of the NSF, was held at the VIP Lounge of the Moshood Abiola Stadium, Abuja. The tournament was graced with the presence of the Honorable Minister of Sports, Mr Sunday Dare on the opening day. The minister revealed his delight in meeting the Nigeria Scrabble players and officials. He also expressed his belief that the National Championships "deserves more media coverage and support" on his Twitter handle.

With five games remaining it was evident that this year's national champion title was between three former African Champions viz Wellington, Moses Peter (defending National Champion) and Dennis Ikekeregor.

The ongoing National Scrabbles Championship deserves more media coverage and support, as do other sports. - Sunday Dare (Hon. Minister of Sports)

Wellington took over the lead from Moses Peter at round 21 by beating him 529-286 on Table 1 but by round 23 it was Dennis who occupied the apex leading with a point after a heavy 487-299 win against Wellington. The final round (24) was going to be the decider. Going into the final round, Wellington (18-5 +1957) paired against Ikekeregor needed only to win by any margin because of his hefty +1957 spread. Ikekeregor (19-4 +1241) needed at least a draw as he had the highest points while Moses (18-5 +1066) playing against Oshevire Avwenagha on table 2 could only aim for the second position.

Wellington showed resilience to beat Ikekeregor 407-374 for the title while defending champion, Moses Peter defeated Oshevire Avwenagha 516-355 to finish in second place. Ikekeregor finished in third while former national champion Olatunde Oduwole and Igali Precious placed fourth and fifth respectively.

GM Wellington who represented Delta State was presented with a trophy, two-hundred thousand naira cash prize and the traditional Green Jacket by the President NSF, Suleiman Gora at the closing ceremony. Delta State also won the Best State Trophy with Bayelsa and Oyo, the first and second runners-up respectively.



Delta State overtook Edo State at the summit of the medals table by claiming Gold medals in the Masters and Open categories of the Men's Team event and a Silver in the Women's Team event to bring their tally to 4 Gold, 1 Silver and 2 Bronze medals (a total of 7).

In contrast, Edo State who also has a total of 7 medals was only able to add a Bronze medal to their tally today in the Open category of the Men's Team event. Edo finished in 2nd place with 2 Gold, 4 Silver and 1 Bronze medals. Bayelsa who could not add any medal to their tally in the Team events finished in third place with 1 Gold, 1 Silver and 1 Bronze medal. For the full medals table in Scrabble click here.

How they won - Team Event Results (Medalists)

Here are the results and (final round scores) for medalists only. For round by round results and statistics click here.

Women Team Event

RankPlayerWon-LostSpreadLast Game
RankPlayerWon-LostSpreadLast Game
1Team Ogun9 - 1+1759a 101-100 WIN vs Team Edo
2Team Delta7 - 3+1205a 242-100 WIN vs Team Fct
3Team Oyo7 - 3+950a 394-100 WIN vs Team Rivers

Men's Team Event - Masters

RankPlayerWon-LostSpreadLast Game
RankPlayerWon-LostSpreadLast Game
1Team Delta8 - 2+674a 400-100 WIN vs Team Plateau
2Team Plateau8 - 2+305a 100-400 LOSS vs Team Delta
3Team Niger7 - 3+1161a 250-100 WIN vs Team Akwa-Ibom

Men's Team Event - Intermediate

RankPlayerWon-LostSpreadLast Game
RankPlayerWon-LostSpreadLast Game
1Team Kebbi9 - 1+1388a 249-100 WIN vs Team Fct
2Team Lagos7 - 3+435a 172-100 WIN vs Team Akwa-Ibom
3Team Rivers7 - 3+434a 101-100 WIN vs Team Plateau

Men's Team Event - Open

RankPlayerWon-LostSpreadLast Game
RankPlayerWon-LostSpreadLast Game
1Team Delta8 - 2+1123a 309-100 WIN vs Team Edo
2Team Lagos7 - 3+890a 247-100 WIN vs Team Bayelsa
3Team Edo7 - 3+369a 100-309 LOSS vs Team Delta

Click here for full results and statistics.



The 19th Edition of the National Sports Festival is slated for the 6th - 16th of December 2018.

The Nigeria Scrabble Federation will be using the ratings after Owerri as cut off for the festival.

Masters 1500 and Above.
Intermediate 1200 to I499
Open unrated to 1199

The events to be competed for are

A total of 33 games to be played over five days.


6th - Arrival (All-States)
7th - Accreditation (All States)
8th - Briefing with NSF Technical Officials, VIP Lounge Abuja National Stadium Package A, 12noon.
9th - Briefing with State Officials, VIP Lounge Abuja National Stadium Package A, 12noon.
10th- Open Competition (Registration N1,000) Five Games.
11th- Singles Event (Masters, Intermediate & Open Men and Women) - 8 Games
12th- Singles Event (Masters, Intermediate & Open Men and Women) - 7 Games
13th- Doubles Event (Masters, Intermediate & Open Men and Women) - 5 Games
14th - Doubles Event (Masters, Intermediate & Open Men and Women) - 5 Games
15th - Team Event (Masters, Intermediate & Open Men) - 8 Games

All athletes must have their complete equipment to participate.

This edition is open to all based on state representation, no restrictions whatsoever.

Umar Faruq Baba-Inna (Technical Director NSF)

Main Menu

Managed designed and developed by Esteloi Web Consult

esteloi consult web development logo
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram