Four additional teams have secured spots in the finals of the Nigeria Scrabble Federation Inter Club Championship, set to take place in Abeokuta, Ogun State, South West Nigeria.NSF National InterClub Championships logo

The University of Lagos Scrabble Club, Ikorodu Scrabble Club, Pyramid Scrabble Club, and Surulere Scrabble Club, all from Lagos State, earned their places in the finals during the South West Zonal Playoff. Enoch NwaliUnder the leadership of Enoch Nwali, current African Scrabble Champion, the University of Lagos Scrabble Club dominated group A, defeating Ibadan Scrabble Club and BSP Scrabble Club. Ibadan Scrabble Club finished second in group A, with BSP Scrabble Club coming in third.

Pyramid Scrabble Club, led by Dipo Akanbi, a former NSF Green Jacket holder, advanced to the final phase of the championship with wins over Surulere Scrabble Club and Egbin Scrabble Club in group B. Ikorodu Scrabble Club secured three wins in group C, outperforming Lekki Scrabble Club and the newly-formed Alausa Scrabble Club. Surulere Scrabble Club qualified for the finals as winners of the second chance Play-Off, defeating Ibadan Scrabble Club and Lekki Scrabble Club.

Kaduna Central Scrabble Club was the first team to secure their place in the finals after defeating South Side Scrabble Club to claim the Northwest slot. Apex Scrabble Club of Abuja, led by Nigeria Scrabble Federation (NSF) Technical Director John Curtis, also qualified for the finals from the North Central Zonal Play-Off.

Jos Scrabble Club and Anambra Scrabble Club have also secured their places in the finals, with the South South Zone yet to decide its Play-Off.

Teams through to the finals include Jos Scrabble Club, Apex Scrabble Club, Anambra Scrabble Club, Abeokuta Scrabble Club: the host city club, Kaduna Central Scrabble Club, Surulere Scrabble Club, Ikorodu Scrabble Club, Pyramid Scrabble Club, and the University of Lagos Scrabble Club.

Twenty-eight clubs from thirteen states and the Nigeria Police participated in the race to reach the finals of the NSF Inter Club Championship. The Inter Club Championship is part of the NSF Scrabble Festival, which also includes the Asaph Zadok National Championship, the Annual General Meeting (AGM), and the Awards and Gala Night.

Delta State is the defending champion of the Asaph Zadok National Championship, with Eta Paul Karo currently holding the NSF Green Jacket.

Edited from reports by Maxwell Kumoye, head, NSF Media and Publicity

Clubs/Players have commenced payments for Club affiliation fees and Player Annual Subscription, respectively to NSF. Listed below are the details of affiliated club and Subscribed players:

AFFILIATED CLUBS (As at 31st May, 2023)

  1. Apex Scrabble Club - Abuja
  2. Central Scrabble Club - Abuja
  3. Egbin Scrabble Club - Ikorodu
  4. Benin Scrabble Club - Benin
  5. Anambra Scrabble Friends Scrabble Club, Awka
  6. Lekki Scrabble Club - Lekki
  7. Building Scrabble Pros (BSP) Scrabble Club, Lagos
  8. Surulere Scrabble Club, Lagos
  9. Sapele Scrabble Club, Sapele
  10. Odi Scrabble Club, Odi
  11. Pyramid Scrabble Club, Abule-Egba
  12. Kwara Scrabble Club, Ilorin
  13. Unilag Scrabble Club, Lagos
  14. Asaba Scrabble Club, Asaba
  15. Sunshine Scrabble Club, Akure
  16. South-Side Scrabble Club, Kaduna
  17. Bayelsa Scrabble Club, Yenagoa
  18. Jos Scrabble Club, Jos
  19. Kano Scrabble Club, Kano
  20. Ibadan Scrabble Club, Ibadan
  21. Warri Scrabble Club, Warri
  22. Central Scrabble Club, Kaduna
  23. Ikorodu Scrabble Club, Ikorodu
  24. NLNG Scrabble Club, Bonny Island
  25. Abeokuta Scrabble Club, Abeokuta
  26. Shell Scrabble Club, Port-Harcourt
  27.  Port-Harcourt Scrabble Club, Port-Harcourt
  28. Safari Scrabble Club, Owerri,
  29. Police Scrabble Club, FCT HQ
  30. Fountain Scrabble Club, Ekiti
  31. Arid Scorpions Scrabble Club, Taraba

FULLY COMPLIED CLUBS (Club Affiliated with at least 7 Subscribed Players) as of 31st May 2023 - to enjoy Incentives.

PARTIALLY COMPLIED CLUBS - Less than 7 subscribed players

Club not yet effective (Requisite criterion of “Minimum of 7Players for Club to be recognized” has not been fulfilled).

Please NOTE:
Penalties for late Club Affiliation/Players Annual Subscription will come into effect on the 1st of June, 2023 (after the lapse of the extension period on the 31st of May, 2023.

From 1st of June, 2023 Tournament files including unsubscribed players for the 2023/2024 Scrabble Season shall not be rated, except the concerned player/s duly meet his/her/their obligations (after either paying the nominal and penalty due or paying the fine associated with playing a tournament having not subscribed through an affiliated Club).

John Curtis (Technical Director)

Main Menu

Managed designed and developed by Esteloi Web Consult

esteloi consult web development logo
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram