Mr Olatunde Oduwole  joined the elite group of Nigeria National Scrabble Champions with his victory at the 2016 Asaph Zadok National Scrabble Championship held from the 15th to 17th of April in Abuja.  He emerged the best among 61 other top Nigeria-based Scrabble players including current World Scrabble Champion Jighere Wellington whom he edged out on cumulative points after both players had garnered 19 wins each in 24 rounds. The World Champion had led the pack for most of the tournament until round 22, the first round of the King of the Hill when Oduwole beat him  363-455 to momentarily take the top spot. Mr Jighere took the next game (round 23) 443-418 to regain the leadership with a point which meant Oduwole had to beat him in the final round to take the title. This Oduwole did 497-399 to finish first and become the National Scrabble Champion with 19 points and a cummulative spread of +1856. Wellington with 19 wins +1180 was first runner-up while former African Champion Mr Rex Ogbakpa came third with a tally of 17-1-6 +938.

The National Scrabble Champion was later presented with the Green Jacket, a trophy and cash prize of 250,000 Naira. Cash prizes and plaques were also presented to the first and second best players and the best performing team. 62 players  including a female (Sule Success) drawn from State Scrabble Associations after qualifiers at the State level competed at the National Championship. Click here for final results of the championship.

[intense_gallery type="thickbox" size="square150" id="1968" include="1972,1971,1970,1969,1966" no_link="1" show_tooltip="0"]

The Asaph Zadok National Scrabble Championship is slated for Friday 15th - Sunday 17th April 2016. Arrival is Thursday 14th April. Games commence on Friday 15th April. A total of 24 games will be played over a three day period. Friday - 9 games, Saturday - 9 games and Sunday - 6 games. Venue(tentative) - National Stadium Package B.

Participants are selected from qualifying tournaments from participating states. Each State is represented by 4 players with 2 reserve players.

The Championship will produce the National Champion  who will receive a  Gold medal (and a Green Jacket) plus  N 150, 000.00 prize money. The first runner up will take home a Silver medal  and N100, 000.00 cash prize while the second-runner-up prize is a Bronze medal and N50,000.00 cash prize. The overall  Best State will collect  a trophy and N100, 000.00.

Tournament website


Main Menu

Managed designed and developed by Esteloi Web Consult

esteloi consult web development logo
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram