Nigeria dominated Africa Scrabble with yet another superlative performance at the 11th edition of the Africa Scrabble Championship (ASC) held in Cape Town, South Africa from the 25th - 28th of October 2014. Mr Nsikak Etim of Nigeria became the eleventh (11th) Africa Scrabble champion and the eighth (8th) Nigerian player to win the prize award of USD 5000 (five thousand dollars). After thirty-two (32) rounds of Scrabble spanning three days in a field of 62 (sixty-two) players, he won 22 games with a cumulative spread of +1725 to beat compatriot Olatunde Oduwole (21 points +1436) to the second (2nd) position. Prince Omosefe with 21 points and a spread of +1077 placed third (3rd) to complete Nigeria's sweep of the top prizes at the ASC 2014. Mr Etim's performance takes Nigeria's ASC title haul to 10 (ten) out of eleven editions of the championship since it's inception in 1994 in Kenya.

Nigeria took the top nine position with Messrs Dennis Ikekeregor, Ayorinde Saidu, Karo Eta, Moses Peter, Kabir Olaiya and Owolabi Lukeman in that order placing fourth to ninth. This feat which earned Nigeria the overall best team award. Mr Dokun Esan carted home the highest win award of USD 100 for his 650-291 win against Dennis Ikekeregor. Former African champion (2002) and the only non-Nigeria to ever hold the title, South Africa's Hovelmeier Trevor took the 10th (tenth) position to complete the top ten best Africa Scrabble players at the end of the tournament. The next edition of the event will be held in 2016 in Gambia.

Team Nigeria Final Result

  1. 1st 22 +1725 Nsikak Etim- ASC Champion
  2. 2nd 21 +1436 Olatunde Oduwole
  3. 3rd 21 +1077 Prince Omosefe
  4. 4th 21 +749 Dennis Ikekeregor
  5. 5th 21 +588 Ayorinde Saidu
  6. 6th 20 +648 Karo Eta
  7. 7th 19½ +248 Moses Peter
  8. 8th 19½ +151 Kabir Olaiya
  9. 9th 19 +866 Owolabi Lukeman
  10. 14th 18 +789 Ogbakpa Rex
  11. 15th 18 +757 Sanni Moshood
  12. 16th 18 +447 Dokun Esan
  13. 18th 17½ +1000 Jighere Wellington
  14. 21th 17 +502 Olobatoke Aka
  15. 22nd 17 +451 Anthony Ikolo
  16. 25th 16½ +1268 Mayuku Tuoyo
  17. 33rd 16−654 Sulaiman Gora
  18. 49th 13½ +821 Faruk Baba-Inna
  19. 50th 13½ −722 Bassey Umoh

[ult_button buttonlink="http://tourneys.nigeriascrabble.com/asc/11th/all/index.html" buttonsize="large" color="ffffff" hovercolor="#1e73be" backgroundcolor="#1e73be" hoverbgcolor="#ffffff" icon="" rel=""]Click here for Full Results and Player Stats[/ult_button]



Top Nigerian Scrabble players and officials have arrived Cape Town, South Africa venue of the 11th edition of the Africa Scrabble Championship. The event starts from the 25th of October and ends on the 28th of October, 2014.  The team led by President of the Nigeria Scrabble Federation, Alh Suleiman Gora is expected to repeat Nigeria's dominance of the game in Africa by retaining the trophy won at the 10th ASC by Rex Ogbakpa the defending champion who is also a member of the current team. Nigeria has won 9 of the previous 10 editions of the championships. Two members of the Nigerian team Jighere Wellington and Ikekeregor Dennis have been crowned Africa Scrabble Champion twice.  62 players representing 6 African countries are participating at this year's championship.

Players List

  1. Jighere Wellington
  2. Eta Karo
  3. Olatunde Oduwole
  4. Ogbakpa Rex
  5. Dennis Ikereregor
  6. Ayorinde Saidu
  7. Nsikak Etim
  8. Prince Omosefe
  9. Kabir Olaiya
  10. Moshood Sanni
  11. Moses Peter
  12. Owolabi Lukeman
  13. Anthony Ikolo (Coach/Player)
  14. Olobatoke Aka
  15. Faruk BabaInna
  16. Sulaiman Garba
  17. Bassey Umoh
  18. Oladokun Esan
  19. Beatrice Touyo Mayuku

You can follow the 2014 ASC results here.



The 8th edition of the Godswill Akpabio International Scrabble Classics was concluded on Sunday the 28th September 2014. Current Scrabble World Champion Nigel Richards became the second non-Nigerian to win the coveted prize. He carted home the top prize of twenty thousand US dollars $20,000 after 28 games. He won 21 games with a total spread of +1797 points. Former African Champion Jighere Wellington came second with 19 wins and +807 spread while Olatunde Oduwole came third with 19 wins and +739 spread. Full results and game statistics of the Masters can be found here.

In the Intermediate category Ezinore George came first with 20 wins out of 28 games and a +990 spread followed closely by Evruje James 19 wins +1375 and Etua Larry 19 wins +778 spread in second and third place respectively. For full results in this category click here . The Open category was won by John Aiyedun 20/24 +1626 spread. In 2nd and 3rd place respectively were Adekunle Ayo (17/24 +1413 spread) and Ohwonohwo Rutherford (17/24 +1295 ). The Ladies category had 42 ladies in attendance with 24 games played. The first prize went to Ekaba Dorcas who had 19.5/24 +1948, beating Lawrence Adesola (19/24 +557) and Yeribo Zini (16.5/24 +1400) to the second and third position respectively. In the Veteran category Odulele Rotimi came first with 22/28 +1695, with Barr. Aquaisua Edet coming second with 20/28 +1318 while Majemite Prince came third with 19/28 +1067. Full results: Open Ladies Veterans

Messrs Oduwole,Jihere and Richards at the 8th GAISC

The tournament was attended by over 400 players including elementary school children with the NSF Board members and officials presiding. The opening ceremony was attended by the Akwa Ibom state Commissioner of Health who gave a talk on prevention and control of the current Ebola epidermic in W/Africa. The closing ceremony and banquet was presided over by the State Deputy Governor Valerie Ebe who presented the trophy to the Champion Nigel Richards assisted by commissioner for Sports and the representative of the Minister of Sports Mr Bolaji Ojo-Oba along with NSF president Suleiman Gora and other board members.

Main Menu

Managed designed and developed by Esteloi Web Consult

esteloi consult web development logo
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram