Senator Akpabio charges WESPAC team to do Nigeria proud.

July 13, 2023

Senate President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and Grand Patron of the Nigeria Scrabble Federation (NSF), Sen. Godswill Akpabio has charged members of Team Nigeria to the World Scrabble Championship in Las Vegas, Nevada, USA, to make the country proud at the event. He gave this charge to the team on Tuesday in his office when the team led by NSF President Engineer Toke Aka paid him a visit.WESPAC USA 2023The Senate President, told the team to be good ambassadors of Nigeria while in the United States for the Championship which runs between the 22nd and 26th of this month in Las Vegas. During the visit, NSF president Engineer Toke Aka officially informed the Senate President that a key member of the team, Doko Oluwatimilehin was yet to get his US visa for the tournament. Senator Akpabio immediately reached out to the US embassy, stating that Doko Oluwatimilehin is a young and talented player who will add colour to the World Championship. “Doko is a future World Champion and an undergraduate pharmacy student of the University of Lagos that Team Nigeria needs at the Championship and he will surely return home to complete his education.” The former Akwa Ibom State governor told the US embassy official on phone. We gathered that, the US embassy has requested the Federal Ministry of Youth and Sports to send it a covering letter for the young sportsman.

NSF WESPAC 2023 team with Sen. AkpabioThe Senate President also charged the team to do the country proud by repeating the feat of 2015, which saw them emerged the best team and the world champion through Wellington Jighere. The team is expected to depart Nigeria today (Wednesday) via the of Turkish airlines to be part of the World Championship.

Five African Scrabble Champions are part of Team Nigeria squad to the World Championship. The players and officials (first batch) leaving for the USA are as follows.

  •  Fashina Olawale
  • Aweh Ebi
  • Salami Lateef Olabisi
  • Mayuku Tuoyo
  • Onota Ojiru
  • Adesiyan Adebowale Oluwayemi
  • Eyekomogba Akpomemerhe Morrison
  • Omosefe Prince
  • Oloro Opeyemi Noheem
  • Akanbi Oladipupo Monsuru
  • Sanya Adebola Oladipupo
  • Etim Nsikakabasi Solomon
  • Ikekeregor Dennis
  • Ofidi Emmanuel
  • Ikolo Anthony
  • Jighere Wellington
  • Eta Paul Oghenekaro
  • Oduwole Olatunde
  • Avwenagha Oshevire
  • Aka Olobatoke
  • Thukson IV Ejiro
  • Adetomiwa Adeloye
  • Nwali Enoch
  • Idahosa Bright
  • Osadolor Charles

Report by Maxwell Kumoye (NSF Media and Publicity)

Main Menu

Managed designed and developed by Esteloi Web Consult

esteloi consult web development logo
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram