Nsikak Etim Wins ASC 2014

October 29, 2014

Nigeria dominated Africa Scrabble with yet another superlative performance at the 11th edition of the Africa Scrabble Championship (ASC) held in Cape Town, South Africa from the 25th - 28th of October 2014. Mr Nsikak Etim of Nigeria became the eleventh (11th) Africa Scrabble champion and the eighth (8th) Nigerian player to win the prize award of USD 5000 (five thousand dollars). After thirty-two (32) rounds of Scrabble spanning three days in a field of 62 (sixty-two) players, he won 22 games with a cumulative spread of +1725 to beat compatriot Olatunde Oduwole (21 points +1436) to the second (2nd) position. Prince Omosefe with 21 points and a spread of +1077 placed third (3rd) to complete Nigeria's sweep of the top prizes at the ASC 2014. Mr Etim's performance takes Nigeria's ASC title haul to 10 (ten) out of eleven editions of the championship since it's inception in 1994 in Kenya.

Nigeria took the top nine position with Messrs Dennis Ikekeregor, Ayorinde Saidu, Karo Eta, Moses Peter, Kabir Olaiya and Owolabi Lukeman in that order placing fourth to ninth. This feat which earned Nigeria the overall best team award. Mr Dokun Esan carted home the highest win award of USD 100 for his 650-291 win against Dennis Ikekeregor. Former African champion (2002) and the only non-Nigeria to ever hold the title, South Africa's Hovelmeier Trevor took the 10th (tenth) position to complete the top ten best Africa Scrabble players at the end of the tournament. The next edition of the event will be held in 2016 in Gambia.

Team Nigeria Final Result

  1. 1st 22 +1725 Nsikak Etim- ASC Champion
  2. 2nd 21 +1436 Olatunde Oduwole
  3. 3rd 21 +1077 Prince Omosefe
  4. 4th 21 +749 Dennis Ikekeregor
  5. 5th 21 +588 Ayorinde Saidu
  6. 6th 20 +648 Karo Eta
  7. 7th 19½ +248 Moses Peter
  8. 8th 19½ +151 Kabir Olaiya
  9. 9th 19 +866 Owolabi Lukeman
  10. 14th 18 +789 Ogbakpa Rex
  11. 15th 18 +757 Sanni Moshood
  12. 16th 18 +447 Dokun Esan
  13. 18th 17½ +1000 Jighere Wellington
  14. 21th 17 +502 Olobatoke Aka
  15. 22nd 17 +451 Anthony Ikolo
  16. 25th 16½ +1268 Mayuku Tuoyo
  17. 33rd 16−654 Sulaiman Gora
  18. 49th 13½ +821 Faruk Baba-Inna
  19. 50th 13½ −722 Bassey Umoh

[ult_button buttonlink="http://tourneys.nigeriascrabble.com/asc/11th/all/index.html" buttonsize="large" color="ffffff" hovercolor="#1e73be" backgroundcolor="#1e73be" hoverbgcolor="#ffffff" icon="" rel=""]Click here for Full Results and Player Stats[/ult_button]



Main Menu

Managed designed and developed by Esteloi Web Consult

esteloi consult web development logo
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram