Engr Dipo Akanbi, representing Lagos state, emerged the 2017 National Scrabble Champion by winning the 2017 edition of the Asaph Zadok  National Scrabble Championship held in Abuja. He won 18 games with an spread of +743 to dethrone 2016 national champion Olatunde Oduwole who finished in fourth place.  For his effort Dipo Akanbi won a cash prize of N150,000 along with a trophy and the green jacket signifying his admission into the elite group of Nigeria National Scrabble Champions.

Dayo Tayo, also of Lagos state, came second with 16.5 points and a spread of +346. He won a cash prize of N100,000. Moses Peter of Akwa Ibom came third with 16 wins and a +1351 spread, winning a cash prize of N50,000.

Team Lagos retained the title as the best state with five out of their six players emerging in the top six.  Lagos won a trophy and a cash prize of N100,000. Delta and Akwa Ibom came second and third best respectively .   Wellington Jighere, the 2016 WESPAC world scrabble champion finished 14th on the score table with 14 wins and +1076 cumulative spread.


Main Menu

Managed designed and developed by Esteloi Web Consult

esteloi consult web development logo
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram